Skip to content

Adding sites to the Restricted Zone in Windows 7

By Codrut Nistor

Posted in How-to, Windows-7

The Restricted Sites zone contains Web sites that are not trusted by your organization or you or are not on your local intranet. By default the security level for Restricted Zone is High. This zone contains websites that cannot be trusted when opened and are not considered safe for downloading any file. In other words adding websites to this zone means that you are not supposed to download any data fron this site as they might harm or damage your computer. For example if u add a site in this zone and when that site is opened Internet Explorer will warn you from opening that site. Therefore you can use this zone to cause Internet Explorer to alert you from unsafe content to download or to prevent that content from downloading.

This zone contains web sites that you do not trust. By default there are no Web sites that are assigned to the Restricted Sites zone and the security level is set to High. To add sites to this zone follow these steps

  1. Logon to Windows 7 computer with any account.

  2. Click Start button then go to Control Panel.

  3. Double-click on Internet Options to open it.

  4. Go to Security tab.

  5. Under this tab you will find four different zones.

  6. Click Restricted Sites icon.

  7. Under this click Sites button.

  8. Finally add desired URLs of the sites to this zone.